Main content

Information for travellers

You need to comply with requirements in the state or territory of your arrival, and any other state or territories that you plan to travel to. This includes quarantine and post-arrival testing requirements. Restrictions may change at short notice.

You may be eligible for reduced quarantine requirements when you return to Australia depending on the state or territory to which you are travelling.

Travellers returning to Australia may only enter and travel between NSW, VIC and the ACT without quarantining.* NOTE: Australian citizens, permanent residents or their immediate family members entering Australia who have been in South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Malawi or Mozambique in the last 14 days must enter quarantine for 14 days in line with state and territory requirements irrespective of their vaccination status.

If you wish to travel on to another state or territory you may not be allowed to enter, or may be subject to a quarantine period.

*Under state public health requirements, NSW and VIC have already initiated testing and 72 hours of isolation requirements for Australian citizens, permanent residents and immediate family members entering the country.