Main content

Framework for National Reopening by Christmas

On 13 November, the Commonwealth, New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory agreed to a new ‘Framework for National Reopening Australia by Christmas’ subject to local health advice.

Western Australia did not agree to the National Framework for Reopening, specifically the domestic border and international arrival proposals.

Read the Framework for National Reopening by Christmas PDF 423KB

Framework for National Reopening

On 23 October, National Cabinet agreed in-principle to the Framework for National Reopening, noting at the time some states were in caretaker and WA did not agree with removing border controls in any particular timeframe.

The Framework is designed to reopen Australia to a state of ‘COVID Normal’, wherever it is safe to do so, by December 2020 while managing the health impacts and severity of COVID-19.

Read the Framework for National Reopening PDF 491KB.