• Share on facebook
  • Share on twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Share on Google+

Measurement and standards

Australia's standards and conformance infrastructure

A number of bodies comprise Australia's standards and conformance infrastructure. These are: Standards Australia Limited; The National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA); The Joint Accreditation System of Australia and New Zealand (JAS-ANZ) and The National Measurement Institute.

Department of Industry

How Australia's measurement system works

Australia has a well-developed national measurement system which is made up of four national organisations which are complemented by trade measurement authorities and legal metrology authorities.

National Measurement Institute

National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA)

The National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA) provides assessment, accreditation and training services to laboratories and technical facilities throughout Australia and internationally.

National Association of Testing Authorities

National Measurement Institute (NMI)

The National Measurement Institute (NMI) is responsible for establishing and maintaining Australia's units and standards of measurement and for coordinating Australia's national measurement system. NMI was formed from the National Measurement Laboratory (CSIRO), the National Standards Commission and the Australian Government Analytical Laboratories and continues their work.

National Measurement Institute

Standards Australia

Standards Australia is the nation's peak non-government standards organisation, charged by the Australian Government to meet Australia's need for contemporary, internationally aligned standards and related services. Standards Australia also recognises, rewards and promotes excellence in design and innovation through the Australian International Design Awards program and other design promotion initiatives.

Standards Australia

Standards Australia publications

Select and buy Standards Australia publications, either for immediate download or have a hard copy posted to you. Australian Standards are published and distributed by SAI Global under licence from Standards Australia.

Standards Australia

Back to top