Helping you find government information and services

School term dates

Find out about the current year and next year's term dates for Australia's state and territory government schools.

You should confirm with schools directly about specific dates, including pupil-free days.

Australian Capital Territory

2017

  • Term12017
    Fri 27 Jan 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Students commence Monday 30 January 2017.
  • Term22017
    Wed 26 Apr 2017 – Fri 30 Jun 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 17 Jul 2017 – Fri 22 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Fri 15 Dec 2017

2018

  • Term12018
    Fri 2 Feb 2018 – Fri 13 Apr 2018Students commence Monday 5 February 2018.
  • Term22018
    Mon 30 Apr 2018 – Fri 6 Jul 2018
  • Term32018
    Mon 23 Jul 2018 – Fri 28 Sep 2018
  • Term42018
    Mon 15 Oct 2018 – Fri 21 Dec 2018

New South Wales

2017

  • Term12017
    Mon 30 Jan 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Eastern Division, Teachers commence Friday 27 January 2017.
  • Term12017
    Mon 6 Feb 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Western Division, Teachers commence Friday 3 February 2017.
  • Term22017
    Wed 26 Apr 2017 – Fri 30 Jun 2017Teachers commence Monday 24 April 2017.
  • Term32017
    Tue 18 Jul 2017 – Fri 22 Sep 2017Teachers commence Monday 17 July 2017.
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Fri 15 Dec 2017Teachers finish Tuesday 19 December 2017.

2018

  • Term12018
    Tue 30 Jan 2018 – Fri 13 Apr 2018Eastern Division, Teachers commence Monday 29 January 2018.
  • Term12018
    Tue 6 Feb 2018 – Fri 13 Apr 2018Western Division, Teachers commence Monday 5 Feburary 2018.
  • Term22018
    Tue 1 May 2018 – Fri 6 Jul 2018Teachers commence Monday 30 April 2018.
  • Term32018
    Tue 24 Jul 2018 – Fri 28 Sep 2018Teachers commence Monday 23 September 2018.
  • Term42018
    Mon 15 Oct 2018 – Wed 19 Dec 2018Teachers finish Friday 21 December 2018

Northern Territory

2017

  • Term12017
    Fri 27 Jan 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Urban Schools, Students resume Monday 30 January
  • Term12017
    Mon 30 Jan 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Remote Schools, Students resume Tuesday 31 January
  • Term22017
    Tue 18 Apr 2017 – Fri 23 Jun 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 24 Jul 2017 – Fri 29 Sep 2017Students resume Tuesday 25 July
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Thu 14 Dec 2017Urban Schools
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Fri 15 Dec 2017Remote Schools

2018

  • Term12018
    Mon 29 Jan 2018 – Fri 13 Apr 2018Urban Schools
  • Term12018
    Tue 30 Jan 2018 – Fri 13 Apr 2018Remote Schools
  • Term22018
    Mon 23 Apr 2018 – Fri 29 Jun 2018
  • Term32018
    Tue 24 Jul 2018 – Fri 28 Sep 2018
  • Term4 2018
    Mon 15 Oct 2018 – Thu 13 Dec 2018Urban schools
  • Term42018
    Mon 15 Oct 2018 – Fri 14 Dec 2018Remote schools

Queensland

2017

  • Term12017
    Mon 23 Jan 2017 – Fri 31 Mar 2017
  • Term22017
    Tue 18 Apr 2017 – Fri 23 Jun 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 10 Jul 2017 – Fri 15 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Tue 3 Oct 2017 – Fri 8 Dec 2017Year 12 - Friday 17 November 2017; Year 10 & 11 - Friday 24 November 2017.

2018

  • Term12018
    Mon 22 Jan 2018 – Thu 29 Mar 2018
  • Term22018
    Mon 16 Apr 2018 – Fri 29 Jun 2018
  • Term32018
    Mon 16 Jul 2018 – Fri 21 Sep 2018
  • Term42018
    Mon 8 Oct 2018 – Fri 14 Dec 2018Year 12 - 16 November 2018; Year 10 & 11 - 30 November 2018.

South Australia

2017

  • Term12017
    Mon 30 Jan 2017 – Thu 13 Apr 2017
  • Term22017
    Mon 1 May 2017 – Fri 7 Jul 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 24 Jul 2017 – Fri 29 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Mon 16 Oct 2017 – Fri 15 Dec 2017

2018

  • Term12018
    Mon 29 Jan 2018 – Fri 13 Apr 2018
  • Term22018
    Mon 30 Apr 2018 – Fri 6 Jul 2018
  • Term32018
    Mon 23 Jul 2018 – Fri 28 Sep 2018
  • Term42018
    Mon 15 Oct 2018 – Fri 14 Dec 2018

Tasmania

2017

  • Term12017
    Wed 8 Feb 2017 – Thu 13 Apr 2017Teachers commence Monday 6 February 2017.
  • Term22017
    Mon 1 May 2017 – Fri 7 Jul 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 24 Jul 2017 – Fri 29 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Mon 16 Oct 2017 – Thu 21 Dec 2017Teachers finish Friday 22 December 2017.

2018

  • Term12018
    Wed 7 Feb 2018 – Fri 13 Apr 2018Teachers commence Monday 5 February 2018
  • Term22018
    Mon 30 Apr 2018 – Fri 6 Jul 2018
  • Term32018
    Mon 23 Jul 2018 – Fri 28 Sep 2018
  • Term42018
    Mon 15 Oct 2018 – Thu 20 Dec 2018Teachers finish Friday 21 December

Victoria

2017

  • Term12017
    Mon 30 Jan 2017 – Fri 31 Mar 2017First day of Term 1 is a student-free day.
  • Term22017
    Tue 18 Apr 2017 – Fri 30 Jun 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 17 Jul 2017 – Fri 22 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Fri 22 Dec 2017

2018

  • Term12018
    Mon 29 Jan 2018 – Sat 31 Mar 2018First day of Term 1 is a student-free day.
  • Term22018
    Mon 16 Apr 2018 – Fri 29 Jun 2018
  • Term32018
    Mon 16 Jul 2018 – Thu 20 Sep 2018
  • Term42018
    Mon 8 Oct 2018 – Thu 20 Dec 2018

Western Australia

2017

2018

Did you find the information you were looking for?

Yes, I found what I was looking for No, I didn't find what I was looking for

Thank you.

Your feedback helps us improve australia.gov.au.